CatFish

It was harmless at first. An unfulfilled need, which likely started after years of unhappiness. Isn’t that how it always starts? She had only recently been reunited with her youngest daughter, of which the relationship was still troubled. Her eldest daughter had just moved out, to live with her boyfriend many miles away. Her husband, who had retired 20 years ago as a Police Officer, found contentment in the affection he received from their many cats whilst spending his days watching TV.

What was she to do? Tirelessly, she worked her mundane corporate desk job. The work mildly interested her, but it gave her something to do to as she passed the time wishing she were somewhere else. Someone else.

After work, it was not uncommon for her to be playing on Pogo, where she had created an online support network of similar minded cyber friends. So, when she created a new Pogo account under a fake name, no one suspected anything of it. 6 months went by, an entire summer passed, and a new online love was beginning to blossom…

Yes, cause he said that was part of the lie. That was all part of her fake identity.

Jessica was furious. Some guy had just messaged her telling her that my mom had pretended to be her online. She had assumed Jessica’s identity, by re-posting Facebook photos of her to another online Pogo Account under a fake name. To say the least I was dumbfounded. This was obviously fake. I was going to deny the allegations against my mother for as long as I could until I was able speak to her myself.

She wasn’t picking up though. A quick scan of my mom’s computer revealed that she had indeed create a fake online persona as there was still a Messenger, Pogo and an Email account set up under the fake name. When I finally did get hold of my mom, she profusely denied everything. I could tell by the tone of her voice that she was lying. Jessica and the guy, Adam, had already sent enough proof for me to know that it was indeed my mom who had pretended to be Jessica for the past 6 months. Shortly after my phone call, my mom suffered a severe asthma attack and sent me an email admitting to everything.

Can I be the first to say that I am really sorry to be telling you all of this, I am not enjoying it.

Nervously, Adam started to send some of the photos, emails and personal details shared between my mom and him over the course of their online relationship. She had kept the details of her persona accurate to when she was in her 30s, even confirming the fact that she has two children. She shared pictures of my car, her house and several other photos taken from my Facebook account. She had even called him on several occasions, being careful to never use Facetime. He was devastated, he had fallen in love with her and in return she had betrayed him in a way no other had before. Despite everything, she had fallen in love with him too. Two souls bound together by a white lie which could not be undone.

To this day, the relationship between my mom and I is built upon the eggshells we walk on. I have never told my Sister or my Step Dad of what transpired, for fear that it would break apart the family. As a result, the relationship with my Step Dad also suffers. A year after the incident took place, my sister told my biological Dad that “she was pretty sure mom was having an online relationship”. Mom has not told anyone of the incident, despite her efforts to deceive me into believing she was actually receiving professional counseling. I do not know if she has had other online relationships, other than Adam, while presuming another identity.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the term “Catfish“, I highly recommend watching this Documentary. This story is based upon true events which transpired 2 years ago.

 

Leave a Reply

